Librarian in Training Pt. 2

The Present

This afternoon, I want to talk about my current job and my dream job. I’ve been at the library for almost two months now, and I FUCKING LOVE IT! I work at the circulation desk, and while it is repetitive, no day is the same. The people cane be different. The questions and responses can be different. Definitely the programs are different. Some nights are quiet and we sit and chat or search the library website. Some nights, I don’t look at a chair until I get into my car to drive home. Nothing about this job sucks. The full staff meetings are voluntary. Correction and improvement are ongoing, so nothing comes out of the blue at performance evaluation time. I’m even volunteering for training! That has never happened since college. My supervisor is awesome. My coworkers are amazing. I am so happy with this job, what I do, and where I am. Now, I know that I am a fickle bitch, and it doesn’t take much for me to change my mind. Check back with me in two months, and see how I feel. I predict, I’ll feel the same, but you never know.

The Future

I think I’ve written about this before, but I can’t remember. Anywho, who cares if I have already, because the fact that I keep talking about it means that I really like it and will probably see it through. I’m getting more and more attached to the idea of applying for the Librarian’s Skillbook virtual Social Media Librarian internship. I’m even thinking of asking my supervisor for a recommendation letter. Anywho, the SML interns is in charge of social media marketing and strategy.That includes Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, and WordPress. Oh HAY, I have a blog. So, I’m making a conscious effort to blog more frequently. I want a pattern of consistent blogging to show for interviews and such. AND if I can keep it up, enough to get an internship, then I may just use it for my senior eportfolio. 2.5 years of consistent blogging about all things life, literary, library related, and ink-worthy. What say you to that? Hah! Not only that, but this social media savvy, tech intensive, thing is great for my eportfolio too. Not only that, but doing as many different for credit and not for credit internships, viritual and IRL will be good too. A veritable treasure trove of diverse skills and interests that I can use as a librarian. AND I could easily incorporate my love for film and TV. It’s win-win-win. My mommy used to tell me to discover what it was I loved to do and find somebody to pay me for it. I think I’m on the right track. 😉

Leave a Reply

