Film Review: Blue is the Warmest Color. Directed by Abdellatif Kechiche

Blue is the Warmest Color

Starring Léa Seydoux and Adèle Exarchopoulos.

Blue is the Warmest Color is the 2013 Palme d’Or winner at the Cannes Film Festival. This marked the first time that the Palme d’Or was shared between the director, Kechiche, and two actors, Seydoux and Exarchopoulos. The film follows Adèle’s (Exarchopoulos) life, through an awkward relationship, meeting and falling in love with Emma (Seydoux), and everything in between and afterward.

The film is unapologetic in the way it is filmed. It almost feels like a documentary without the narration. Sometimes, I feel as though I watch films with a haze around the edges, but Blue didn’t have that for me. It felt as though I was uncomfortably close to Adèle and Emma in their intimate moments. Now, when I say “intimate”, I don’t just mean the now infamous sex scenes between Seydoux and Exarchopoulos. There are two scenes towards the end of the film where there is no sex, ok a facsimile of sex in the one scene, but where the characters/actors are so open with each other that it is hard to watch them. Not to mention the scenes of Exarchopoulos alone. Both ladies are wonderful in the film.

That ending though. I was disappointed, because it seems like all French films leave me feeling heartsick. True to life, no thing always works out as we would want it. But dammit, it’s a movie. It should have a happy ending. *pout*

It’s been said that the film strays from the source material, a graphic novel of the same name by Julie Maroh. In the synopsis I read from Wikipedia, it does, but that doesn’t detract from the film. I do plan to read the graphic novel as soon as I can get my hands on it. Look for that review at some point in the new year.

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

