Tattooed Librarian: Over the Rainbow

20141219_201938-1

I’ve been wanting an outward expression of my queerness for a while. Originally, I wanted a rainbow, but certain colors (yellow) don’t show up well on my skin tone, which is fine. Then, I thought, well rainbows are cool and everything, but I want something less about being an LGBTQ symbol and more about me and my acceptance of me. Then came the idea of a bow, done in rainbow colors. Bows are feminine, come undone, I sat on the idea for a few days, looked at pictures of bows and how they could be drawn and what could fit into that space. I thought about placement. Where on my body would this bring me the most joy? I thought about how I would feel explaining it to people. I realized then that I could say whatever I wanted to about this tattoo. Though it has meaning to me, that meaning does not translate to me having to tell people I don’t like or don’t know all of my business.

I gave Cookiie no more instructions than a bow, and she came back with the beautiful design above. We added pink in place of the yellow. I love it It’s on my forearm, hanging out for all the world to see. It’s about 2.5 weeks old at this point, and looks amazing. What struck me as she was doing the tattoo was it’s been entirely too long since my last tattoo, at least a year. I have determined that I can’t go that long without ink. I’ve already got three ideas in mind. Mom is not going to be happy with me, but I needs the ink! 🙂

What I love even more than my tattoo is that I got to catch up with a really awesome person. I haven’t seen Cookiie since she did my hip, which was years ago. It was nice talking to her and hearing about her life and how awesome it is. I genuinely love hearing that my friends are doing things that make them happy, are with people who help them grow and love them.

Artist: Cookiie Trinidad. Check out her new website cookiietrinidad.com. Seriously, her photos are amazing! I love her. I love my tattoo.

Interesting fact: this tattoo’s quirk is that the ribbons are slightly off-center. Like me!

Until next time, my lovelies!

Leave a Reply

