What is she doing?

Hey hey hey!

I realized that I wanted to do more posts about me. I know, I know. “Posts about her? Isn’t the whole blog about her?” But I mean, posts with no theme, no agenda, just what I’m doing or have done that have nothing to do with school or work, but may occasionally deal with tattoos and drinking. 🙂

Any way, one day at the beginning of the month, I had a Saturday off. It was glorious! My first Saturday doing nothing, not working, not driving, not grieving, just sitting. I actually sat down, with my mom, and did my hair. Then, on Sunday, I did LAUNDRY! Why is that so exciting, you ask? I hadn’t done laundry in a month. Yes, I have just that many pairs of undies and combos of clothes that I can get through a month. Mom taught me well. I go a bit crazy at the VS semi-annual sale. 🙂 I discovered, though, that I need to go shopping, because by the end of the month, I’d  run out of work-appropriate shirts. I had to raid my mom’s closet. Not doing that again. So, it’s time to shop.

Now, on that Saturday where I did nothing exciting, I found myself watching YouTube videos. I discovered HartBeat and Quierd, two channels run by a lovely young woman named Hart. She’s hilarious. I loved every minute of it. Because I was watching her channel, I also discovered Ebony, Denise, and Olivia, a two mom family that run the channel Olivia Has 2 Moms. They are very down to earth people just sharing their lives. Olivia is adorable, and I hope that when she looks back on these videos she’s proud of her moms and their decision to live proudly and be YouTube famous. I also discovered Jade, also known as Foxyhotmess, another YouTube channel. Awesome!

The month of December sucked for exercise. I started my new job, finished the fall semester, and all I wanted to do was sleep. Luckily, I didn’t gain too much weight, but it’s time to get back into it. I started riding bikes again with FT down at the Three Notch Trail on Sundays. It’s a 6 mile ride. When the weather starts getting warmer, I’m going to go outside and walk the neighborhood. I admire my neighbors that walk outside even in the cold. I can’t do it. I hate the cold. If I ever leave Maryland, I’m going somewhere more temperate, like Georgia. I discovered that driving through Atlanta makes me happy, even in traffic, so that seems like my next adventure in five years. Sure, it gets cold in the south, but not as cold as Md…except at night. I can handle that.

I also got a new follower right before the New Year, Tesse of Mind the Spine. She posted a great reading challenge that I am jumping on, because it looks cool. If you go over there, the title of the post is New Year’s Challenge #1. It is the 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge. I printed it out, and so far I have completed 7 of the 50 book requirements.

A Book You can Finish in a Day: The Pagemaster Storybook. So what it’s a kid’s book. It’s cute and cheesy, and I loved the movie. I found it in a box of other books from my childhood.

A Book Set in High SchoolLies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley. Not only is it set in high school, it is set in 1959 Virginia during desegregation. It centers around two young ladies, one white with a seriously racist father, the other black who is one of the students integrating the high school, and their burgeoning affection for each other. If it seems like there’s a lot going on, that’s because there is. The story flips between each girl’s viewpoint, so it feels disjointed, but that’s life right? You can’t be in another person’s head. You’re not always going to know what they are thinking.

A Graphic NovelBlue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh. There’s a whole Reader’s Advisory post about this, so I won’t say anything, because it’s already been said.

A Book from Your ChildhoodThe Airship: Discover a Whole New World by Ken Forsee. This is a Teddy Ruxpin book. Yes! I loved Teddy Ruxpin when I was a little girl. It’s a super short book about Teddy, Grubby, and Newton Gimmick trying to get the airship off the ground to search for treasure. It made sense when I was little. Now, it’s just a good memory.

A Book by a Female AuthorBlack Girl in Paris by Shay Youngblood. This came to me as a recommendation from a librarian friend on Goodreads. She didn’t leave any comments or why she thought I would like it. So it sat on my recommendation list, my only friend recommendation. I started it on Christmas 2014 and finished it during the second week of January. Eden, a young woman, leaves home to find James Baldwin and be a writer in Paris, because that is where all the literary greats went and lived. It is now one of my favorite novels. Eden goes through so much just to be worthy of calling herself a writer, to meet James Baldwin, to meet herself. She puts herself in all these different situations that it’s hard to understand how she’s still alive at the end of it all. Throughout everything, though, she remains as true to herself as she can. In the end, I was reminded of Po from Kung Fu Panda. “There is no secret ingredient.”

A Book with a One-word TitleLanding by Emma Donoghue. Another one with a Reader’s Advisory post.

A Book by an Author You’ve Never Read BeforeAnnihilation by Jeff VanderMeer. Yet another one with a Reader’s Advisory Post. I gotta tell ya, if I finish the majority of this challenge by mid-May, I’m going to have to find a new challenge.

To recap: the Popsugar 2015 reading challenge has 50 books. My Goodreads 2015 challenge is 80 books. My Reader’s Advisory class has me reading 35 books. These are not mutually exclusive lists. I may finish my Goodreads challenge early!

Until next time, my loves.

Leave a Reply

