Reading Challenge Update

February is over. Where am I in my 2015 Popsugar reading challenge? I think I’ve done well for myself, if I do say so myself.

A book with more than 500 pages: The Paying Guests. Sarah Waters. At a whopping 567 pages, this may or may not be the longest book I’ve read in recent memory. If you want to know more, head to the Readers’ Advisory post.

A nonfiction bookBad Feminist: Essays. Roxane Gay. I think I’m going to be buying this one and adding it my home library. I really enjoyed it, and there are some essays I want to spend time with and maybe write a response. Check out the Readers’ Advisory post for this one too.

I’ve changed this next one, because there are no books set in Waldorf, Md or Donaldsonville, La. It was–A book that takes place in your hometown. I changed it to–A book of poetry: Hymn for the Black Terrific. Kiki Petrosino. A Baltimore native, Petrosino’s writings were dense. Poetry always takes me a long while to read, because I feel like I should be analyzing as I’m reading. The set of poems encompassing Mulatress are all creative ways of rewriting one sentence said by Thomas Jefferson about black people. The section about the eater was actually the part that kept me most in thrall. All of the poems take their name from either Petrosino’s imagination or the English translation of the Chinese names of food dishes. The eater ate to celebrate, mourn, hide her pain, and eventually triumph in a muted sort of way. Give it a try.

A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet: Jason. Laurell K. Hamilton. I have several thoughts on this one. I’ve written some in a Readers’ Advisory post, but I may write more, especially after Dead Ice comes out in June. I love LKH and I love Anita, but I read some reviews and I see their point. I see why readers have a love/hate relationship with LKH. Maybe I’m just not critical enough in my reading? I don’t know.

A mystery or thriller: The Forgotten Girls. Sara Blaedel. Ok, so it’s mystery/crime novel; it still counts. This one also raised some complex issues about mental illness and the different ways families and individuals deal with it. I did a Readers’ Advisory post for it, but this one didn’t really make me happy, so much as it annoyed me. At least the issues raised may stick with me.

A book published this year: Half-Resurrection Blues. Daniel José Older. A fantasy novel that has ghosts, imps, ngks, and bureaucracy. It has a bit of a slow start, but there is no wasted character. Everybody has a purpose. The first in a series called the Bone Street Rumba, I am curious, if not eager, to see what happens next. Check out the Readers’ Advisory post for more!

Leave a Reply

