Tattooed Librarian: Baby Kraken

I got a new tattoo. If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter, you’ve seen this cute baby already.  Now, you get to see it again! Two weeks ago, I was off on a Saturday. I made plans in my head weeks and weeks before this that I was going to get a tattoo that day. Why? Because even though a fresh tattoo should stay out of direct sunlight, I wanted to be able to wear sleeveless shirts while the tattoo healed. I didn’t want to have to immediately cover it up, because it was too cold. The weather has been a bit confusing lately, though. The breezes have had more of a September feel that an August feel, more chill, less heat. Anyway. After deciding the day, I had to find the shop. I’ve been researching tattoo shops and artists off and on for a while now, discovering techniques that cool and whatnot. I finally decided that I was going to go to Tattoo Paradise.

At that point, it was a decision between which shop to go to. Do I go to their flagship shop in DC? Do I go to Rockville? Do I go to Wheaton? I didn’t know. I ended up in Rockville, mainly because I hate driving in DC alone, and I hate parking in Adams Morgan even more. Why drive when there is the metro, you ask? The closest metro station to Adams Morgan is almost a mile away. I’d be alone, in the city, walking a mile. I’d rather not do that. If I’d had friends with me, I would have done it, because I believe in the buddy system. So, I hopped in my car and drove up to Rockville. There was an hour wait, because I didn’t make an appointment. So, I waited at the Starbucks in the Safeway down the street. Got some tattoo aftercare supplies. My artist was Carly Corpse, a wonderful dude. He did mention, as all artists do when I want color, that it might be better to just do a black and gray tattoo. I politely told him no. This tattoo needed to be in color.

I found this little guy on Pinterest, maybe, two years ago. I knew then that he needed to be permanently inked into my skin. However, I did not draw him. I did not ask anyone to draw him for me. He’s just a cute picture I found on the internet that makes me happy. For two years, I would look at him and smile and laugh. I would bring him up when I was feeling down. I even brought him to work this month. Did you know that August is Happiness Happens month? Our branch manager asked us to bring in photos of what makes us happy. I brought him. He has since made everybody else happy too. 🙂

Welcome, little buddy. Tattoo number eight. Artist: Carly Corpse. Shop:  Tattoo Paradise

20150822_204743-1

Isn’t he just adorable?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

